Dave Lange discusses Super Group for next Tuesday’s “Grand Scoop”

The boss says, “Dave, you should blog about the band for Grand Scoop….”

So here goes…

In the planning stages for our annual Grand Scoop event (Tuesday, July 28) we talked about getting entertainment to help draw a crowd…and then Joe (our Executive Director) looks at me.

I’ve been playing with a group called Boogie & the YoYoZ for about 14 yrs now.  Through that group I’ve met a lot of other people who play in the area and beyond.  I thought, what if I can get a group made up of people from a bunch of different bands?  So I started with a mass email to see what kind of interest the people I knew might have.  The first response I received was from Eric Johnson.  Eric currently plays with a group called Grand Union and plays with several other groups in the area, including the Glam Band (the best damn 80’s group out there!).  He suggested that I call Jason with Road Trip.  Jason and I talked about the event and he came on board right away; a great addition…things were shaping up nicely.  Jason was going to talk with Amy Jo from Road trip for me and see if she was interested.  I’ve always loved the way Amy performed with Road Trip and was excited that she might be interested.  Scott Anderson called me and said he was in for whatever I might need.  Scott used to play with Boogie and can handle rhythm guitar and has a great ‘country’ timbre to his voice.  I then called Chris from Boxkar.  Boxkar has been played over the country playing, including the Viper Room in LA and has caught the attention of a number of labels.  Chris is actually a former lead singer of Boogie too.  Chris said he was in and seemed as excited by the line-up as I was.  Jason then later called me and said Amy was interested.  I called her and she was in too.  The group was complete at last!  It’s gonna be fun!

So there you have it.  The Grand house Band, or as Joe keeps calling it, our own Fox Valley ‘Supergroup’ with Eric Johnson on Drums, Singers Chris Szebeni from Boxkar and Amy Jo from Road Trip, Dave Lange and Scott Anderson from Boogie & the YoYoZ and Jason Busse from Road Trip.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/event.php?eid=118386841952&ref=mf

Dave Lange, bass guitar – Boogie & the YoYoZ

Leave a comment